I thought I’d install Safari 4 to see what it was like. After using it a few times, I kind of liked it. I used it from time to time (my main browsers are Firefox 3.5.x and SeaMonkey 2.x) and kind of liked the feature that it shows a preview of most viewed webpages on the first page. This was all until I used the program called SpaceSniffer to find out that the folder “C:\Users\MyName\AppData\Local\Apple Computer\Safari”  was 600 MB. So I fired up the good ol’ Safari and cleared its cache. Hmmm, that’s odd, because it’s still the same size. So I used SpaceSniffer to view the folder and well, there’s a folder called “Webpage Previews” with 1600 files in it, collected during 10 days, it was the preview of every webpage I had visited !

This in my opinion is a security breach, useless feature and buggy software. Why weren’t I informed that the browser is going to save every page view on my drive, and keep them over 10 days ? Why couldn’t it just save the addresses of most viewed webpages and retrieve a new view of those pages everytime it needed ? Does it really need to keep 1600 files just to preview 12 most-viewed-webpages ?

And Cache.db is still 160 MB, even though I supposedly cleared it just now. I thought Microsoft was being promiscuous !You know what I’m going to do now ? Uninstall Safari. Thank you, but no thanks. I like my hard disk space. I like my privacy. I don’t like useless software with even more useless features.

So what’s the deal with Google Chrome ?

Google Chrome version 1.x, 2.x, 3.x, 4.x saves passwords and then you or anyone using your computer can go to options and reveal passwords. Why would it have such “feature” ? Why does it then show passwords with Asteriks (*) ? Why not just read out my passwords every time loudly, just in case my neighbours want to access my email and facebook ! I actually thought it was a bug. But no, it couldn’t have been that obvious bug and not been noticed. Another thing. From what I know, every major version change (like from version 1.0 to 2.0) normally has a whole re-write of code and new features and most of the time new redesign of GUI for a program. Why is it that Google Chrome version 1 looks just like version 4 ? It reminds me of Microsoft Media Player 8, 9, 10. I couldn’t tell the difference, they all looked the same, no re-write of code or anything. Microsoft could have just called it 8.0, 8.1, 8.2 …